Refinance & Disability Insurance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zyx189

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a 4th year medical student going into EM. With graduation coming in a few weeks I am trying to get some of my financial and other insurance information in order.

1. My plan post-match was to consolidate and refinance my loans w/ a private company. I am not a good candidate for PSLF and other forms of loan forgiveness (overall loan burden 90k). Does anyone have any experiences with any companies (such as DRB, SoFi, etc.)? Any pitfalls/problems you had during this process or something you wish you would have known earlier? Do they typically have extra fees if you pay off your loan early?

2. I was speaking with people at Mass Mutual about an own-occupation disability plan. I was quoted $52/month (~$640/year) plan for $2,500/month benefit that would go in effect 90 days post disability. It has an option to increase benefits by $7,500 post-residency to a $10k/month without any additional health screenings (obviously premium would increase accordingly). I am in my late 20s w/ no medical problems. Is this an appropriate rate? Anyone have experiences with this company? Any other companies you recommend looking at?

3. Apart from The White Coat Investor, book recommendations on personal finance, retirement, and investments?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I would get as many disability insurance quotes as possible. I vaguely remember hearing that Mass Mutual was getting away from own occupation, but can't remember all the details around it. I went with Principal and got a good rate, with the option to increase to 17K. Guardian also had reasonable rates and benefits.

So any other companies apart from these I should be looking at? Guardian/Berkshire, Principal, Northwestern Mutual, MetLife, Standard, Union Central
From perusing the forums, many people seem to be going with Guardian.