Recent grad in need of serious advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kdoc11

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm in a sort of complicated career/academic situation and, after months of fruitless internet research, have decided to come to actual, experienced humans for advice. :)

In December 2015, I graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Biology (minored in Psychology). When I started undergrad, I had unwavering dreams of becoming a physician. Despite multiple cases of stress hives, a much-needed Lexapro prescription, and my first-ever D in Chemistry, I persisted. Eventually, I learned the ins and outs of being a STEM major, and things leveled out. I retook the classes I did poorly in (Gen. Chemistry and Organic Lab), did pretty well on the MCAT, and somehow managed to graduate a mere semester late with a 3.2 GPA.

This is where things start to get complicated: during my senior year, I worked as a scribe in the local hospital ER and was introduced to the PA/NP professions. After only a few shifts, I realized my real dream was PA school (and it has not changed since). Because I was three prereqs short and felt it was too late in the game to apply, I decided on a gap year. I took my prereqs at a local college and came out with a 4.0, as well as worked as an MA at a large university hospital. I also worked on a large research project at the university lab. However, my sGPA is only a 2.75 (this is without applying any academic amnesty policies). I don't know if I should even bother applying to PA school, and I need brutal honesty. I am not interested in applying "as many times as possible," because if this isn't an option I need to focus on other, more reasonable careers.

Any advice? Should I pursue PA or chalk it up to a pipe dream? What about NP, etc.?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.