Reasonable Matching Goals?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Waskerley

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year DO student who is starting to get the Match anxiety. I would like someone to either slap some harsh sense into me or provide cooing reassurance. Either way is fine with me.

I have loved all of my rotations so far this year, but when I think about what I find most interesting, the answer is Gen Surg.

Step 1 was a 218 first time (ehh, I know, just shy that magic cutoff). COMLEX was also unremarkable (530.)

Preclinical grades are average (A and Bs). Clinical grades have been fantastic thus far with all-honors. Additionally, I work hard and people like me.

Since I seem to rub people the right way in person, I was planning on doing as many aways as possible at DO programs in the hopes someone will take a shine to me. Is this a reasonable goal? Or should I aim for something less competitive? Or should I try to apply to two specialties?

I don't particularly care where I end up. Its just 5 years and I've lived in rural Cow-country before, so I can do it again.

Members don't see this ad.

Kill it on Step 2 and apply broadly and you definitely have a chance.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Reactions: 1 user
I would really research the programs as much as possible when you audition there. Check which match they're planning to be in, make sure they applied for ACGME accreditation already, did they get accredited yet, etc.

If you do well in person, auditions are the way to go, and I'd line up as many as you can between May and Sept, after you take Step 2. I would avoid doing auditions during peak interview season (Oct, Nov, Dec), but if you need to, then go for it. It wouldn't really hurt anything but your wallet to also apply ACGME, but I wouldn't put too much into it and mainly apply to places that seem "more" attainable.