Quoted: Mental health history and residency/rotation applications

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sent to me via PM

Question:

I am a medical student with a mental health history, though fortunately it has been quite mild during medical school. There are no particular incidents that I need to explain, although I would probably have gotten higher grades during my first two years if I had gotten the help I needed sooner (I never failed a course, but got mediocre grades).

My question is probably a fairly common one, though I could not find it in the forums. There are many people with mental health issues whose problems do not adversely affect their work, at least to any meaningful extent. But many hospitals (whether for residencies or rotations) want to know your medical history, including your mental health history. They specifically ask about common disorders like depression, anxiety, etc. -- and not whether it is a disease that will affect your performance, just whether you have it or not. And they request your medical records, some of which may have that information. So what is one to do in these situations?

On those occasions where I've already had to fill out such forms but I knew that my actual records would not be sent, I chose to say "no." I simply have no confidence in the respective administrator actually keeping this information secret, particularly at a small community hospital where everyone on staff knows each other. And, if I was doing a residency somewhere (and would therefore be around long enough to get to know everyone), I would have the same concerns.

(As far as my physical health goes, I'm an open book. It doesn't bother me in the slightest.)

Members don't see this ad.