Quoted: Disclosing history of mental health issues

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Quoted for a user (sent to me via PM):

I have a confidential consult question.

I am a current medical student that had some mental health issues during my senior year of college. I graduated without problems from undergrad, and took 2 years off to work before attending medical school. I have not had any mental health issues since, and stopped taking medication 6 months after graduating undergrad (1.5 years prior to entering medical school).

My questions is this: will there ever be a time that I am required to disclose my mental health history to a state medical board or hospital? Specifically, I understand that the Georgia State Medical Board requires its applicants to document their mental health history over the past 7 years. If I end up matching at a Georgia school, does the residency training permit require me to disclose my mental health history in the past 7 years?

Additionally, the mental health professional at my undergraduate institution thought that I may have Bipolar II. I had no previous history of that disorder, nor any mental health symptoms after graduating from undergrad (nor do I now). I am concerned that her assessment of me during senior year of my undergrad will follow me professionally as a physician (through the licensing process, credentialing process at hospitals, etc). Is this the case?

Members don't see this ad.

My questions is this: will there ever be a time that I am required to disclose my mental health history to a state medical board or hospital? Specifically, I understand that the Georgia State Medical Board requires its applicants to document their mental health history over the past 7 years. If I end up matching at a Georgia school, does the residency training permit require me to disclose my mental health history in the past 7 years?