Questions regarding reviewer comments on my systematic review regarding cognition & working memory..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doctor_Strange

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Research question: Evaluate and synthesize randomized controlled trial (RCT) study designs that investigated the effects of physical activity on working memory performance in healthy individuals.

Main inclusion criteria stipulated (1) a healthy sample population, (2) a physical activity intervention, (3) a working memory outcome measured, and (4) a randomized control trial design.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(I graduated since submitting this journal and my ability to contact my research adviser is intermittent as she is on sabbatical, so I was hoping to get some additional insight from this thread--hope that is permissible)

Questions:

1) One reviewer commented that including acute and chronic exercise interventions must be separately analyzed to which I now realize and fully agree. My question is that I only have 11 studies and 5 are acute exercise interventions. Should I simply exclude them (per reviewer's recommendation), or perhaps attempt to conduct a separate meta-analysis of the 5 acute exercise-based studies? Doing so, however, may be problematic as each of the 5 studies used different working memory measurement tools (my initial meta-analysis has subgroups where identical tests are analyzed together).