Question for doctors/surgeons

Brandonmma

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
i'm graduating highschool next year and I really want to go to med school after college

It's just that when I look at the hours that doctors work , I get kinda discouraged
I really want to be a cardiovascular surgeon

Doctors, are you happy with life?

Are the hours long and boring?

Members don't see this ad.

Across all specialties, about 50% of doctors would say they would have chosen the same specialty again. A little more than half would say they would have chosen medicine again. Happiness is very subjective though. There are some people who will be happy no matter what job they take, and some will be unhappy no matter what job they take. Medicine is no different. I'm currently a fourth year medical student and I have no regrets. I have classmates who feel otherwise.

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes I'm happy

Yes the hours are long sometimes - my specialty, Pediatric Critical Care, requires overnight coverage (which at most big ICU's means in-hospital shifts) and kids of course can get really sick on holidays and weekends so it's not like the ICU can just close up shop - it's not so much that the hours are long, but that there are so many of them

Sometimes the hours are boring, but I also chose a field that provides a bit more adrenaline rush than most and so when I'm dealing with a lot of not so sick kids, it's not as riveting. For the average office based specialty, it'll be a lot more even keeled. Most surgeons probably want their OR days to be pretty even keeled.