Question about osteopathic programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wjs010

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a DO student and am wondering about the DO dermatology programs. If by 2020 a program is not up to snuff and closes, what happens to the residents in that program? Is there a guarantee from the gov. that we can be turfed to other programs since that slot is already paid for, or is there a possibility that some residents will be able to switch to other programs and some won't simply because there aren't enough resources in those existing programs that made the cut? I'm trying to get an idea on which ones will make it because I'm in the situation where I will either apply DO derm or decide to go ACGME for IM. If 2 programs make the cut and the rest get shutdown, it would make more sense to me to go ACGME instead of going into an osteopathic TRI year( especially when I have no desire for OB or surgery). But obviously I can't email or contact program directors and ask them if their program is gonna close; seems like they would all say of course not. Any and all advice is appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I will help you out on this... There is NO guarantee that you will be placed into another derm program. Last time I checked, there are only 5 DO Derm Programs achieving Initial ACGME accreditation. For all intended purposes, these are considered MD Programs now because they will be accepting MD residents as well.

There are also a number of current DO Programs that will be closing. It is estimated that 10-15 programs are not going to continue. That leaves about 10-12 program continuing with ACMGE applications that you can apply to right now. If the program failed to achieve ACGME, then you will have to find another ACGME program that will accept your transfer.