This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

new_grad_2016

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, everyone.

I have just joined the forum and this is my first post. My questions have to do with commission payment. In my new job working as an associate general dentist I have made an agreement to earn a 30% commission. The practice owner has given me daily reports but this is the first time I read such reports and don't know exactly how to calculate my commission from the numbers on these daily reports. Below are the numbers I find on one of the reports (from one of the days I have worked):

Production: $7,635.00
Prod Adj.: –$3,888.70
Payment, Check: $11,423.86
Payment, Credit: $410.00
Today's Receivables (including payments posted to insurance plans): –$8,087.56
Insurance plan payments: $1,919.26
Expected insurance: $0.00
Expected Write-Offs: $3,276.36
Patients: 15
New patients: 3

What is the meaning of each of these numbers and how do I calculate my 30% commission from them?

I have had some bad experiences in the past and have worked for practices that failed to pay me my rightful salary. How can I make sure the same doesn't happen this time ?

Thank you in advance for your posts and any help you can share.

Members don't see this ad.

Two questions are 30% commission of what, production, adjusted production or collections and how often is it tabulated daily, weekly, biweekly or monthly?

Two questions are 30% commission of what, production, adjusted production or collections and how often is it tabulated daily, weekly, biweekly or monthly?

Hi, Ohio DMD.

I am a bit confused by the three possibilities. It was my idea when I made the agreement that I would get 30% of the office's overall performance (I am the only general dentist working there). What exactly is the difference between production, adjusted production and collections ?

In regards to the frequency we agree these numbers would be tabulated daily.