Purpose of this depression study?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cbrons

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can someone who is smart explain what in the world the take-home points and utility of this study is? It has been on my reading list since October and I've been putting it off. The conclusion is somewhat mind-boggling to me:

Most US adults who screen positive for depression did not receive treatment for depression, whereas most who were treated did not screen positive. (JAMA Psychiatry 2016)

So what the heck are the authors trying to assert? That depression is both undertreated and overdiagnosed?

I am an internal medicine resident, so I am interested in what if anything this study really means for primary care medicine.

Members don't see this ad.

Attachments

• Treatment of Adult Depression in the United States.pdf
    320 KB · Views: 51
Can someone who is smart explain what in the world the take-home points and utility of this study is? It has been on my reading list since October and I've been putting it off. The conclusion is somewhat mind-boggling to me:

Most US adults who screen positive for depression did not receive treatment for depression, whereas most who were treated did not screen positive. (JAMA Psychiatry 2016)

So what the heck are the authors trying to assert? That depression is both undertreated and overdiagnosed?

I am an internal medicine resident, so I am interested in what if anything this study really means for primary care medicine.

There's a few things I gleaned from this study which the Conclusion section alone didn't adequately cover.