Psychology and Psychiatric Rehab questions?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rosanao

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good Morning all,
I am writing on here due to my confusion between what to pursue in college. I am currently a freshman with an undeclared major. I stopped going to school for the last two semesters due to financial situations but I have recently decided to get back into school and get my career path started. I have always been interested in psychology but I have been looking more into psychiatry due to the fact that I can be allowed to prescribe medicine once I get my phd. My concern is that I am almost 21 and I understand that I need to be in school for a long period of time but I had a few questions concerning a certain major provided by my school. The major is called Psychology and Psychiatric Rehabilitation. It is a dual major. Has anyone heard of this and what are possible caeer options for me? I would love to work with children, yes I have read that working with children in psychiatry can be difficult but I have my personal reasons onto why I would love to pursue this. I also know that it seems like I do not know the difference between psychology and psychiatry, but I am comparing them here due to the fact that my University does not provide a major for psychiatry. I mainly want to do my 4 years first due to the fact that I am not sure if I will be accepted to medical school in the future. Financial wise and grade wise. My main concer, is, does the major Psychology and Psychiatric Rehabilitation seem like one where I can work with children and is it of any use in the psychiatric department? This is a spread sheet http://www.kean.edu/~psych/doc/2011 PSYCHIATRIC REHABILITATION.pdf of the college courses I will need to take once I enroll in this field. What are your suggestions? Are the courses useful? I am very new to this and I would love answers from anyone in psychiatry or