Psych -> Epidemiology/PH field change advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FrenchPuppy

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
tl;dr: M.Sc. Research Psychologist wants to do applied work and change into infectious disease epi, is it right for me?

Hi all,

After lurking in this and in similar forums for a while and reading everything I could find about the topic, I figured it was time to write a post and ask for advice. This post might get lengthy, I apologize in advance and would definitely appreciate some input.

I am a German Psychology student currently writing my master's thesis and I am seriously considering changing fields and getting into epidemiology/PH. I will not be applying this year, so there is no hurry. Still I'd like to gain as much information as possible now to prepare/shape my profile during my gap year starting in September.
My education as of now looks as follows:

B.Sc. in Psychology from an average German public university
- 3.3 GPA (not happy about this, some private/medical problems in my close family made the first year very hard for me)
- Very heavy emphasis on research methods, statistics (including SPSS), and neurobiology/neuroscience
- Bachelor's thesis (empirical study) about memory and metamemory judgments

M.Sc. in Cognitive and Clinical Psychology from one of the best (some argue the best) German public universities in the field
- 3.8 GPA
- Very heavy emphasis on statistics (multivariate statistics, SEM/multilevel models, threshold models, etc., work with SPSS and some R) and research design (including test theory)
- Master's thesis (empirical study) about metamemory judgments is in the works, to be completed in August