Professional Fees?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gemgrrrl

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a 2nd year student, and we have to do a financial awareness assignment for one of our classes. Part of the assignment is to make a budget. I was wondering what fees veterinarians normally pay to maintain their license, dues, insurance, etc. How much of those are usually paid by the individual, and how much is usually paid by employers?

Any insight would be really helpful!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

I'm a 2nd year student, and we have to do a financial awareness assignment for one of our classes. Part of the assignment is to make a budget. I was wondering what fees veterinarians normally pay to maintain their license, dues, insurance, etc. How much of those are usually paid by the individual, and how much is usually paid by employers?

Any insight would be really helpful!
Those are really, really variable depending on where you are. Licenses in the US can run from $50 to $300 or more dollars annually - in Canada, licenses are close to $1000 per year (or more). It may or may not be a part of your compensation package if you are an associate. In the US, you could choose to get a DEA license to allow you to write rx for narcotics, but you may be able to practice without one, depending on where you are. Various states and provinces will have different continuing education requirements to maintain your license, and that usually has a cost involved - that's frequently a perq of your job, but not always. I don't know what malpractice insurance costs are, but they're costs you should bear yourself, not have your employer pay.

Reactions: 1 user
Varies by state, but here in NC we are required to pay for a privilege license ($50/yr) and our veterinary license ($150/yr). Employers typically pay for these if you're a FT employee.