Procedures and minor surgery in family medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

adamanteus

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm kind of new to the world of family medicine, never having thought I would like it until I did an 8 week rotation with an incredibly passionate and caring physician who reminded me of why I wanted to become a doctor in the first place. Probably the biggest (but still minor) issue that I'm struggling with concerning going into family medicine is how much I love procedures. And surgery. I absolutely fell in love with doing surgeries during my surgery rotation, and I was really good at it, but there is no way in hades that I'm going to put myself and my wife/family through that hellish, soul-sucking residency. I wanted to ask what kind of potential invasive procedures are available for family medicine docs. And are there any options at all for surgery besides C/S?

In a perfect world, I'd like to do something like see patients 3 days a week for their checkups/follow ups/etc, and then dedicate 1-1.5 days per week on doing elective and cosmetic procedures, or even some minor surgery if possible. Is this possible...dunno. Might not be realistic, but I'd like to get an idea of what kind of options are out there as far as using my hands, and to what extent my skills can take me as a family doc (with or without additional "workshop-type" training). Does anyone know of a good list?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user