Probation during residency and Job/Fellowship prospects

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SOLID_SnAkE

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I am currently a 3rd yr IM resident and I will hopefully complete residency coming June. I was put on probation during early second year for 4 months due to consistent poor evaluation, there was no single incident that let to the probationary status but multiple vague evaluations stating that I did not seem interested and had difficulty with presentations during rounds. I did not harm any patients, was not involved in any issues with my conduct neither was I involved in argument/conflict with any physicians. Any how I was off the probation after 4 months and now in good standing all the attendings and my PD are satisfied with my performance and I am trying to apply for Jobs.
During a recent Job interview I was asked if I had any red flags on my CV to which I replied "NO" as I was not really sure what he wanted to know and I did not voluntarily want to bring up the probation during the interview.
1. How should I answer the question " Have your clinical privileges or employment at any hospital or healthcare institution been voluntary or involuntary subject to probationary or disciplinary conditions?" If yes what explanation should I give.
2.Is my probation going to affect fellowship chances?
3. Should I have brought about my probation when the Doc asked about red flags?

Members don't see this ad.