Prerequisites - after application + community college courses

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hopefuloptpls

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm currently an undergraduate student. I decided going down the optometry path pretty late, so I still have some prereqs to fulfill after graduating this May. I hope to finish to apply for Fall 2019. I see that for most of the schools that you do not need to have the prerequisites fulfilled by application time. It says it's fine as long as you have them done before enrolling. Does it not hurt my chances if I don't have, let's say a course like biochem or microbiology, by time of application?

Also, I plan to take intro chem 1 & 2 at a community college. The rest of my prerequisites are done + will be done at 4-year college. I know some of the schools recommend taking them at a 4-year college, but circumstances make it much more convenient to take these 2 courses this summer at a community college. Do you think it will hurt my chances?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi, I'm currently an undergraduate student. I decided going down the optometry path pretty late, so I still have some prereqs to fulfill after graduating this May. I hope to finish to apply for Fall 2019. I see that for most of the schools that you do not need to have the prerequisites fulfilled by application time. It says it's fine as long as you have them done before enrolling. Does it not hurt my chances if I don't have, let's say a course like biochem or microbiology, by time of application?

Also, I plan to take intro chem 1 & 2 at a community college. The rest of my prerequisites are done + will be done at 4-year college. I know some of the schools recommend taking them at a 4-year college, but circumstances make it much more convenient to take these 2 courses this summer at a community college. Do you think it will hurt my chances?