Podiatry Confidence

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rooskie83

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am hoping there might be a few podiatrists who are fresh out of residency willing to help me out..

I am a currently near the end of my 1st year of pod school, and needless to say have been pouring my heart and soul into the program. I know I'm still a newbie, but regardless have invested a year of my life (and tuition) into the profession. Lately, I've been hearing negative talk about the number of residency positions available, job outlook after residency, and earning potential (particularly with insurance paying less, heavy taxes, etc). I'm beginning to worry that all our hard work as pod students may not pay out in the end, as many of us enter our careers with 200k of debt on our plate. I know this affects all health professions, not just podiatry.

Are there any success stories out there that will re-boost my confidence in our profession? I would love to hear some personal accounts from current podiatrists.

I must have a case of the midwinter blues...

Members don't see this ad.

Whenever I would get down and out, reading the thread in the resident forum here called "True Stories from Podiatric Residency" gave me some light at the end of the tunnel. I realize you're asking about stuff even after residency, but there are some great stories there and it reminds you that this is a great profession.

Podiatrists will be graduating with a 3-year surgical residency under their belts. We will have more options than we ever had before. I wouldn't worry too much. Focus on your studies and land a solid residency. You will succeed in Podiatry. =)

Members don't see this ad :)
I am hoping there might be a few podiatrists who are fresh out of residency willing to help me out..