PM&R career change questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jeahfoo1

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone. I've been practicing for about 4 years now. I did a non-ACGME pain fellowship and started working with an ortho group as the interventional spine guy in the group. I find that overhead is getting higher and higher and reimbursements are going down (what's new, right?). I'm also considered about long term fluoroscopy exposure. What do you think is the long term outlook on interventional pain and interventional procedures in general? Would it be worth looking into inpatient rehab jobs?

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone. I've been practicing for about 4 years now. I did a non-ACGME pain fellowship and started working with an ortho group as the interventional spine guy in the group. I find that overhead is getting higher and higher and reimbursements are going down (what's new, right?). I'm also considered about long term fluoroscopy exposure. What do you think is the long term outlook on interventional pain and interventional procedures in general? Would it be worth looking into inpatient rehab jobs?
I dont have an answer to your question, but you should change your profile picture for anonymity.

I dont have an answer to your question, but you should change your profile picture for anonymity.
Yup, dont want anyone to figure you out.

1. Outpt pain is typically 2-4x pay of inpatient. No weekends or call.
2. Do you track your radiation exposure? This must be done.
3. Overhead and reimbursement are your groups problem, not yours. Unless you are a partner. You should get mgma data ans then talk to your group.

Members don't see this ad :)
I don't understand why you would go from a position of actively helping people to becoming a figurehead to sign for facility payment. Invest in an US machine if you are worried about fluoro time.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk