Plastic, Aesthetic and Craniofacial Surgery

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Moravian

Surgery Forum Mentor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Greetings all,

I am a boarded general surgeon, BE plastic surgeon and now doing a craniofacial fellowship. I also have a PhD (med school combined). I will try to answer what I can about surgery in general along with questions pertaining to academic surgery and plastic surgery.

Because this is a moderated forum (by me and another plastic surgeon), your posts will not appear until approved. For the most part, the original post will be deleted but it will be quoted it the reply. Please be patient as some of the questions may take some time to answer. And please remember, any adivce given here is just the opinion of a few. It's not the gospel, but hopefully it will help.

--Moravian

Questions for Residents, Physicians, and other Professional Mentors
1. What do you enjoy most about your specialty?
I can and frequently do operate on many different areas of the body, perform everything from excisions of benigh skin lesions to microvascular free flaps, have both an adult and pediatric patients, and I'm never bored.

2. Is there anything you dislike about your specialty?
There is nothing I dislike about what I do. My only complaints are with the medical system as a separate entity.

3. How many years of post-graduate training does your specialty require?
If you can get into a combined plastic surgery program, it will take 5 to 6 years depending on where you train. Any additional training (hand, micro, pediatric, craniofacial, reconstructive, aesthetic) is generally an addition year for each. There are some 6 month aesthetic fellowhsips.

4. What is a typical schedule like for your specialty? Are the hours/shifts flexible?