Physical Therapy in the Military

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sarahkm7

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am new to this network but I have been reading some posts and have a few questions that I want to ask. I am very interested in becoming a Physical Therapist in the Military. I will be starting civilian PT grad school this coming fall (2017). I do not have much knowledge of the branches but I know that I have always wanted to serve the country and help others while doing it. I have read some posts on here and have researched some but I cannot find much information online about how to go about the process of joining as a PT. My questions are as follows, if anyone has any information or has served as a PT in any brach please answer the best you can :)

1. I know that the military does hire civilian PT's, but I am interested in enlisting as a PT (aka not working as a civilian) How should I go about entering a branch? (unsure which one I would like to join, I will have to do more research when the time comes)
2. Should I do clinical rotations at a military hospital, if so, are the positions highly competitive?
3. Do I need special references (like from a PT currently in the military) to become one myself?
4. Are there steps I should be taking while I am in DPT school to better my chances of working as a military PT?

There is a lot I would like to know so if anyone can offer any advice and/or answers I would really appreciate it!

Members don't see this ad.