PhD vs MD/PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EngineerMedic

It's not rocket surgery...
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an undergraduate that is on the fence about medical school.

My career goals lie in research, but I feel torn between either attempting MD/PhD program or simply trying PhD program. If I were to do MD/PhD, it should take an extra 2 years to get MD, plus another ~3 years for residency, so I could expect what effectively totals to 5 extra years of training compared to PhD. However, I think that earning the MD would prepare/qualify me for more and different types of research than the PhD alone.

If my username didn’t give it away, I am most interested in the development and usage of technology in medicine. If I try to oversimplify things a little, I basically see two options. The option for which the PhD would best prepare me would be research that develops novel technologies based on relatively well-established medical research. The option for which the MD/PhD would best prepare me would be more clinical, studying things like the medical response to emerging technologies. Although the second path would take a bit more training, I understand that it would give me more breadth in the types of experiments and fields of research I would be trained to work with.

This leaves me with two questions for the reader:
  1. How accurate are my thoughts on this matter? Am I oversimplifying too much, or making naive assumptions?
  2. What do I need to know as I begin choosing between the two options? I am not asking you to tell me what to do, because you cannot know me well enough for that based on a short post on the internet. I hope instead to get an idea of what each path would look like, and some advice on what I should consider as I start to make decisions around this.

Members don't see this ad.