PhD to MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Scien_Phys

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I wanted to get your opinion on my situation. I'm a PhD student in Cell biology thinking to go into medical school. Not to switch careers, but rather to compliment my graduate education and gear towards a career in translational medicine as faculty.

A bit of background - double major in undergrad (3.6 overall GPA/3.7 science GPA) - decent school in CA. Didn't apply to MD/PhD programs, although I think I should have. Currently in grad school also in CA - 3.9 GPA with ~ 20 publications in top journals, including Cell and Science. 4 first authors in top-tier journals (research and reviews). ~700 clinical volunteering, shadowing a physician (member of my committee) and also doing monthly brigades to help at a clinic in Mexico. I think it is also important to note that I was born and raised in Mexico. Haven't taken the MCAT yet, but currently preparing and thinking to take it around January.

Do you guys have any advice/comments for me on how to make myself competitive for the application process? Any help is appreciated!

Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Are you going to be applying as an international student? You are already competitive but I think being an international student makes the whole process more competitive. Take the MCAT and get a great score. Start working on your personal statement, which is a very important part of the application.