PhD to MD taking a break from post-doc for clinical experience?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

minnymito

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,
I am a current post-doc. I finished my PhD in 2015 (biochemistry) and applied this cycle MD schools as soon as the applications opened. MCAT 514 GPA 3.98, publications 20 including 5 first author. But I still have not received any II. I am guessing at this point I need to make a plan B. I think one weakness may have been limited shadowing clinical experience. I really only have shadowing about 80 hrs.
Would it hurt my chances next year if I take a year off post-doc/research to take one undergrad pre-req I am missing and use the time to do get in some solid clinical experience? I ask this because my app is based on my want to combine research with clinical practice?
Any help would be great!

Members don't see this ad.

The optimal number of shadowing hours is 50+, so 80 is more than plenty. What were your clinical experiences outside of shadowing (i.e. any clinical volunteering, and if so how long + how many hours)?

Also, do you have any nonclinical/community volunteering experiences?

These two are critical factors (more so than shadowing). Additionally, what schools did you apply (a bad school list of reaches or low yields may have hurt)?

Reactions: 1 user
The optimal number of shadowing hours is 50+, so 80 is more than plenty. What were your clinical experiences outside of shadowing (i.e. any clinical volunteering, and if so how long + how many hours)?

These two are critical factors (more so than shadowing). Additionally, what schools did you apply (a bad school list of reaches or low yields may have hurt)?
I do have volunteering experience nursing home volunteer, student government body, tutoring - but these were from college - 2005-2009. More recent is mentoring a research student (2014) and humane society (20012-2013).