Pharmacy Times: Pharmacist Job Market Plunges to 10-Year Low

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

steveysmith54

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Now may be a good time to think about moving to Alaska.

In the last part of 2015, the pharmacy job market took its steepest nosedive in 10 years, according to data collected by the Pharmacy Workforce Center. Notably, this drop was observed in every region of the country.

As a pharmacist, I have watched this job market trend for many years. Although the overall availability of pharmacist jobs has been trending downward for a decade, even I was shocked to see such a sharp decline.

More than half of the United States currently has a surplus of pharmacists, meaning the number of pharmacists looking for jobs outweigh the number of jobs available. This information comes from the Pharmacy Workforce Center’s January 2016 newsletter, which reflects the most recently collected data from November 2015.

Information about the pharmacy job market is submitted confidentially by employer panelists on a monthly basis and collected as part of an ongoing project. The data are then translated into a number on a scale of 0 to 5, which is known as the Aggregated Demand Index (ADI).

The ADI uses a 5-point scale to measure the availability of jobs relative to the number of applying pharmacists. A score of 5 would indicate a much larger pool of jobs than pharmacists, while a score of 1 would indicate a much larger pool of pharmacists than jobs. A score of 3 would indicate a relative balance between available jobs and available pharmacists.

For the first time ever, the overall ADI for pharmacist jobs has fallen below 3 (2.96), meaning the “average” situation is a surplus of pharmacists throughout the country.