Ph.D. thinking about med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

torifile

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a licensed psychologist. I've been practicing for several years now and I'm thinking about going to med school to help in my quest to better help my patients.

I graduated from undergrad in 1998 with a BS in psychology. Got my master's and Ph.D. in psychology and I've been licensed since last year. My undergrad GPA was ok (3.65). I'll probably need to go back and pick up a few more classes in bio and chemistry. How does this work? Another degree or just some continuing ed stuff?

I've got a family now so I'll be restricted in my search for a school. Fortunately, we live in Durham, NC so we've got UNC (my undergrad institution) and Duke (my internship/post-doc institution) here.

Any pointers for this nutcase psychologist? :lol: TIA.

Members don't see this ad.

Go for it.

Just keep in mind that it will be 7 years before your patients can benefit from your education.

:luck:

Members don't see this ad :)
OP, do I ever have just the thread for you! Check it out: http://more.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=402917

And if any of you other PhD-to-MD folks would like to contribute, especially if you plan to continue doing research after you graduate, that would be much appreciated. The MSTP and research MD folks are seriously outnumbering us....