This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hello everyone! I am a 3rd year dental student at UPenn and I am considering doing a periodontics residency. I love all aspects of dentistry, but after shadowing Oral Surgeons, Endodontists, Periodontists and Prosthodontists, I have found a special interest in Periodontics.

I have a 3.78 GPA now and am ranked top 20% in my class. I have not yet taken the GRE, and don't want to as with any test, but will probably force myself to prepare and take it anyways. Is it needed?

My specific wants in a program is one which isn't necessarily research intensive, teaches harder procedures like Remus/Chin grafts and has a reasonable tuition (A stipend would be AMAZING). Maybe what I'm asking for doesn't exist, but is there any program that comes to mind? What are my chances of getting in?

Lastly, but not least, is the Periodontist market growing or slowing down? I have heard many perspectives from a number of people. I've heard some go from practice to practice with part times jobs and handle to bring in 200k+ While others bring in around 150k-175k. If anyone could shed some light on this I would be elated.

Thank you to anyone who can help me a bit! :)

-Fyz

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hello, it is always nice to read that someone is interested in perio! I would recommend externships in a few programs to end up with the ones that satisfy your career aspirations and will help you shape your own opinion. You can find a list here: U.S. Periodontal Programs | Perio.org
GRE is not necessary in almost all programs unless you want to pursue a PhD, however a brilliant grade would always draw attention ;) Staying on top of class and having a good GPA always contributes positively in earning interview invites.

I hope this helps