PhD/PsyD Percentage of billable hours for salary

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BleLes

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an intern applying for postdoc positions. I'm looking at a variety of practice-oriented organizations. I would love to get some feedback on a few things:

1) What is a typical percentage of billable hours that I could expect for compensation?
2) How might that percentage be affected? (reaching licensure, gaining a new client referral source, etc.)
3) What is the standard percentage for licensed psychologists in private practice, and can you provide a reference?
4) what other compensation models might be good for a person in my position?

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know what is typical, but at my company we range from 54%-70%. I'm at 54% (21.5 billable per week), with some non-billable admin and clinical supervision responsibilities, as well as research expectations. I'm not sure why billable requirements would decrease just based on seniority, with no increase in other responsibilities related to revenue generation. "Work less, earn more" contingencies aren't great business models.

Reactions: 1 user
It would behoove you to read textbooks rather than ask sdn. More information, about a wider variety of minutiae. I recommend peppings book and marts book.

Members don't see this ad :)
It would behoove you to read textbooks rather than ask sdn. More information, about a wider variety of minutiae. I recommend peppings book and marts book.
I saw the Pepping book but it was geared toward neuro. Couldn't find a book by anyone named Mart. I am beginning to look at this as the next step in my career so would like to start reading up on it.

I saw the Pepping book but it was geared toward neuro. Couldn't find a book by anyone named Mart. I am beginning to look at this as the next step in my career so would like to start reading up on it.