PEM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrWhozits

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone here practice a split between EM at a normal hospital, and then PEM at a children's hospital?

I was wondering if anybody has done this to try and to ease some of the burnout from drug-seekers, psych patients, etc.

Members don't see this ad.

Does anyone here practice a split between EM at a normal hospital, and then PEM at a children's hospital?

I was wondering if anybody has done this to try and to ease some of the burnout from drug-seekers, psych patients, etc.

Yea, a couple of PEM trained attendings at my program do that.

As a med student I worked with a doc who split her time between a "regular" ED and a peds ED. Both EDs were non-academic aside from the ped ED hosting medical students.

Members don't see this ad :)

Yeah. That can be done. One of my former attendings is now doing a roughly 50/50 split between regular and pedi EDs.

The fairly obvious caveat being you need to do an EM residency and PEM fellowship or the combined EM/Peds residency (though some pediatric ED's may not be open to hiring a combined graduate). The Peds + PEM route won't allow for this.

Reactions: 1 user

Sorry, but they show up to Peds ED's as well. Often as parents, sometimes as patients.

Reactions: 1 users
yes, you have to do a residency in emergency medicine and not pediatrics, but people do it all the time. Most people who do it are EM trained plus a PEM fellowship, but there's some pediatric EDs that allow regular emergency docs (without a PEM fellowship) to work there.

But remember, you may have less psych patients and drug seekers, but you have exponentially more non accidental trauma. One PEM doc I heard give a lecture averages about one reportable incident per shift, I dunno how generalizable that is, but that seems like a lot.