Peds Radiology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
P

PneumonicSonic

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
I work as a Radiology assistant, the techs take the images and send it to the doctor. They physician then diagnoses what they find(if they find anything). I work in the ED and I'm pretty sure that the Radiologists is somewhere other than the ED, so the Emergency Medicine physicians tells the patient what the Radiologist finds.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Pediatric radiology will have a relatively narrow appeal for private practice groups. Our group has not hired a pediatric radiologist in over fifteen years, and we have recruited and hired every other flavor multiples times since. In fact, I am not sure if we would ever hire a pediatric radiologist again, unless he/she were dual fellowship trained in something else OR a woman with strong mammo interest and skills. To read a few pediatric x-rays and ultrasounds in a community hospital setting...why bother?

If there is a large pediatric referral base or the group covers one or more children's hospitals, there will be a need for pediatric radiologists. Obviously, an academic center where there is a children's hospital will absolutely need to staff their radiology department with subspecialty pediatric radiologists.

That said, if pediatric radiology appeals to you, I would advise you to train at a top place, excel in your subspecialty, develop good interpersonal skills and professional relationships, and it will work out fine. (Of course, I could replace "pediatric radiology" in the previous sentence with any radiology or non-radiology specialty, and the advice would still ring true.)

Members don't see this ad :)