Peds Chances - DO student w/ low score

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

apgar69

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year DO student with a horrific comlex score (I'm just relieved I passed!)

COMLEX 1: 417
USMLE: None

I'm really wanting to do peds/neonatology. Should I be applying to both AOA/ACGME programs or only AOA programs? Is this specialty and/or fellowship out of my reach?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a 3rd year DO student with a horrific comlex score (I'm just relieved I passed!)

COMLEX 1: 417
USMLE: None

I'm really wanting to do peds/neonatology. Should I be applying to both AOA/ACGME programs or only AOA programs? Is this specialty and/or fellowship out of my reach?
I won't pretend to be an expert here as I'm similarly a student but from what I've gathered on here and talking with neo atrendingns in really life neo is quite attainable if you work hard during residency (regardless if it's aoa or acgme). Also if you look at last years felowshuo report there were more spots than applicants to neo. But, I'll let someone who actually knows what they are talking about chime in.

If it's any consolation I know of 2 DO neo fellows who only took comlex and their levels ones were in your ballpark. GL to you!!!

Reactions: 1 user