Pediatric Gastroenterology Fellowship Application

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LiggyofTreitz

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Newly matched 4th year to a program in the Western part of the country, highly interested in pediatric GI. Since this like a lot of peds fellowships is a December application cycle that is sooner rather than later and in true neurotic SDN fashion:

How many programs on average do most people apply to? I'm a US grad, average step scores matched to a mid-tier pediatric residency. I see on the NRMP outcomes that if you're a US grad you're basically fine (48 applying, 44 matching) but I just like a sure bet (i'm the person that ranked 17 peds programs just for peace of mind, though my wallet is crying)

Thanks! And congrats to my fellow future pediatricians on a successful match!

Members don't see this ad.

Just to clarify a bit, most pedi specialties have already moved to a fall (PL-3) match

http://www.nrmp.org/fellowships/pediatrics-specialties-fall-match/

Only 4 are still spring (PL-2) matches

http://www.nrmp.org/fellowships/pediatrics-specialties-spring-match/

It is my understanding that these were going to move as have others to a fall match, but I don't know the timeline or if it has been determined for the change. The practical difference is about 4-5 month earlier applications and interviews in the spring match. It is very challenging though as it means that those interested in the spring match fields such as GI and cards must make sure to get some exposure to these fields relatively early in their PL-2 year.