PCAT in a month

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MaryLK

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone who studied for the pcat in a month

How did you do it? like what was your plan

Members don't see this ad.

My advice, you need more than a month, unless you remember major concepts from all your pharmacy pre-req courses (anat/physio,cell &molecular bio, o chem, g chem, ...etc)

I studied here and there for a month and didn't heavily study until two weeks before the PCAT. I only focused on sciences since the school I want to attend heavily looks at those sub scores. I did average in my science courses but scored well on the PCAT and I strongly believe Dr. Collins played a role in that especially the chemistry section.

Members don't see this ad :)
I took the PCAT in October and got an 86 Composite after I studied for about 2 months. However, I work full time, have a 3 year old daughter, and could really only commit to studying 1-2 hours a day on average. So, I really had to work hard to cram in the most valuable information. I don't have a lot of money, so I bought a used Dr. Collins (outdated from 2013), and the Cracking the PCAT guide, as well as the Pearson Vue Practice Tests (these are essential). Additionally, I listened the Audio Learn PCAT over and over every day in the car, the shower, before bed, etc.

I already took the PCAT in 2013 and got a 76 but decided to delay applying to Pharmacy school, so I started with a leg up in the situation. Likewise, I have a Bachelor's in Biology so I have taken advanced Biology courses. Additionally, I read constantly and am a writer so I did not study Reading Comp and still received a 98 in that area.

Okay, with that said, my plan was as follows: