Passed NAPLEX

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Akind00

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
After weeks of looking through all the "passed" and "failed" naplex threads, it's my turn to give back to this community ;)

I took the exam Saturday morning 8AM, and had my results online at around 3PM the following Tuesday. I used the RxPrep book, and I bought the online videos and questions. I studied for about a month on/off 6-8 hours a day, and read the book 3 times. My topics were all over the place, and I'm glad I went over the whole book. SO PLEASE, DO NOT SKIP any chapters. A good majority of my questions were from thyroid, HTN, HLD, Diabetes, HF, bits of infectious and onco, HiV, IV compatibility, herbals, compounding and biostats. I had one med chem/structure question, and WHOLE LOT OF select all the apply. I mean...30% of the exam was select all the apply. Yes, it was hell. I had a few "arranging" questions, and "pinpoint" questions, too. I was really disappointed i only had a few onco and HIV because I went ham on those chapters, but they asked simple side effects/antidotes for the more common drugs. The math was definitely doable. Moreover, I only did the first 30 questions on the SDN 120 packet and I'm glad I stopped. SDN120 is overkill, as many others have said before. Yes know your brand-generics, yes know dosage forms, and yes I had to memorize some important dosing.

This was a 6 hour exam-I finished in 5, and that's with double checking all the math and sometimes just staring at the screen for a few minutes because I could not remember what color warfarin 7.5 was. I didn't take the 10 minute breaks in between either. I was still keeping pace-if I didn't know the answer to a question I picked a random answer and went on to the next question. I mean, the answer is not going to magically appear to me, so might as well move on.