Passed my NBDE I

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

codeofsmile

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Took the test on 6/26 and received the result today --passed! What a great relief! Many thanks to ppl who provided valuable information in this forum. :)

I studied almost 3 months (minus the weekends and holidays :p) -- 4 hrs/day at the beginning and 7 hrs/day the week before the exam.
I used first aid, dental decks 12-13, ASDA reprints a-n and dental board mastery.
First aid is a wonderful book. I went through it thoroughly once and start the first round with ASDA reprints. By that time, I could get 80% of the questions answered correctly. Go into great detail and try to understand/remember everything from this book (including figures and tables). One would be able to answer more than 85% of the questions from the exam with first aid and strong background of DA/OC.
Dental decks are OK but do not expect any repeat in the real exam. The notes on the back are very helpful.
I had no more than 20 repeats from ASDA papers but they help me know my weak points and how the questions will be asked. When I read first aid for the second time, I was more clear how to study.
Dental board mastery has great mnemonics.

I studied till the night before the exam. Should NOT have done so as my brain was rather active when I went to bed and I was quite awake for another 3-4 hours. Just relax the day before the exam. It can only be helpful.