Owning a farm while practicing medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bulldogmed

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Kind of a random question, but do any rural FPs also own a farm? I'm talking about having chickens, a few milk cows, and a garden. Nothing commercial, but enough to have fresh produce, meat, and dairy. I'll admit this is something of a dream of mine and probably not too realistic, but one can wonder, right?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I believe it can be done - at least that's part of my vision for how I want to live.
_________
FM PGY-1

I know two doctor/farmers. One is an IM guy that worked in the ED - this was back when I was an EMT and applying to med school. I called his residence, and his wife said "he's in the barn"; I don't know what kind of farming he does, though.

The other guy is a big name guy in EM (is now the associate dean of the med school) who told me about when he got his faculty appointment here. He was in the US south at the time, and he said he was pretty excited, but, also, down a bit, because he had just bought a new manure spreader.

It can be done; I just don't know specifics!

Members don't see this ad :)
I plan on buying a farm and hiring a farmer after I pay off these loans. Then I'll know what's going inside the food I'm putting in my body.

I have a farm that I've been running since I moved back to my home town. I have mostly beef cattle, but but I do produce some row crops (mostly for personal consumption). I have a pecan orchard as well but I'm probably ten years away from any real production. I'm exploring some more unusual things for this part of the world such as olives,crawfish, and alligators, but nothing in the works yet.