ortho in west coast chances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Theppunisher

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
I am an east coast student at an allopathic school(not a highly regarded school but the health system is well known) (also attended undergrad in east coast and basically have lived here my whole life)
I am a current 3rd and am very interested in orthopedic surgery and want to match out west like somewhere in California or possibly Seattle...
first 2 years of med school were pass fail... passed everything
Step 1- >>260
did some research in ortho have 1 or 2 papers coming out in the near future hopefully before i apply
and i believe I can get some solid recs from some of the orthopedic surgeons here at my school
I believe my school allows like 2-3 aways during 4th year which obviously i will use or or 2 of to go out west.
is there anything else I can do to increase my chances?
my father lived in cali for a bit and is moving back so I kind of have family ties

thank you ahead of time

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Thank you guys... on the topic of aways, I believe my school gives 3 away rotations do you think just one away in california is enough or should I do 2 aways or a 4 week one split into a two weeks at two different california schools?

Thank you guys... on the topic of aways, I believe my school gives 3 away rotations do you think just one away in california is enough or should I do 2 aways or a 4 week one split into a two weeks at two different california schools?

I wouldn't do a two week rotation simply because you'll probably need a week just to orient yourself to your new hospital.

Rotate at one (or more if you know that's where you want to be). You'll likely get >/= 2-3 more interviews on the west coast with a solid application, though not necessarily at the top tier places.