One year to make myself a better medical school candidate

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Raavenclaw

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated this spring and I'm applying to medical school next cycle, so I have a year to make myself a more competitive applicant. I would appreciate any advice on gaps I may need to fill between now and the time I apply.

I did horribly my second semester of freshman year due to reasons I'll mention briefly in my personal statement. Those difficulties influenced my decision to become a physician, but I've had a lot of anxiety since then about whether or not I would be able to, "redeem," myself. Here's what I'm working with so far.

cGPA: 3.49
sGPA: 3.3
Clinical/shadowing hours: 600 total between 3 specialties (shadowing, vitals, ECGs, administrative work, etc.)
Community service hours: 25

Research: Part-time research assistant for one year in public health research on two different studies, publications pending

Leadership:
President of a student organization for one year

Skills:
Conversational Spanish
Conversational Arabic

Awards:
Scientific academic competition: 1st place regionals, 1st place nationals (refraining from naming organization for anonymity)
4-year Presidential academic scholarship for undergrad

Interests outside medicine:
Weightlifting 4-5x/week for 4.5 years
Piano >15 years
Guitar 2 years

I'm posting this because my grades were really bad my second semester of freshman year, and I know my GPA is not competitive. I'm studying for the MCAT now, which I will take in 11 weeks. After that, I will retake the courses I did poorly in at my local community college, work part-time (location TBD), and do volunteer work.

I'd really appreciate feedback on where I can improve.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
600 hours of shadowing??? You are kidding right? 25 hours of community service? Really? What about clinical experience?