OMM question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheTruckGuy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I was wondering if y'all could answer some questions for me regarding what y'all are taught about OMM. My understanding is that you're trying to fix stuff that is out of alignment, but what I want to know is how long do your adjustments typically last for? Is there any time when you wouldn't do OMM on someone that's young and healthy and without any contraindications? And do y'all typically refer to PT, or teach the patients ways to permanently fix their misalignments?

I'm an MD resident rotating through a clinic that previously had a DO, and a patient came in asking for me to adjust him and said he'd get periodic adjustments whenever his back was acting up on him. Since I couldn't do it, obviously, my only option was to refer to PT but he declined.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I'm just a 3rd year, so I can't go into too much detail. But it 100% varies based on: patient vitality, the problem being worked on, and the severity of it.

To stick with your patient who wanted their back worked on. Nothing will be a permanent fix for the spine, so I imagine based on how the patient takes care of themselves they can prolong going without a treatment or shorten the time between treatments. For example, if the patient does core exercises, keeps good posture they can go without a treatment.

Also, sometimes people are just out of alignment. Take myself, we were working on rib adjustments in lab one day. You can run your hand down my left anterior ribcage and feel that "oh, this one rib pokes out a bit". It doesn't bother me in anyway, but lets practice a treatment on it. So, my classmates did the treatment correctly. We all could feel that the rib was no longer sticking out. However, I took in a really deep breathe and it popped right back out.