Medical OMG M.D. To Be Shares What Made Her Re-Application Shine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
This interview is the latest in an Accepted blog series featuring interviews with medical school applicants and students, offering readers a behind-the-scenes look at top medical schools and the med school application process. And now, introducing Madison…

Accepted: We’d like to get to know you! Where are you from? Where and what did you study as an undergrad?

Madison: I’m from the great city of Cleveland, Ohio. I graduated from The Ohio State University majoring in biochemistry and minoring in women’s gender and sexuality studies.

Accepted: Where are you currently attending medical school? What year are you?

Madison: I currently attend a MD program in the Midwest US! I just finished up my first year of school, so I’m now officially an MS2.

Accepted: How has your first year treated you? Is there anything you wish you would have known that you’d like to share with future first year students?

Madison: My first year of medical school was such a great experience. It was very challenging at times but also very rewarding and fulfilling. I believe my gap year helped me to appreciate the whole med school experience even more. I wish that I would have known to prioritize my health a little sooner in the school year. At the beginning, it seemed impossible to step away from the books for even 15 minutes. I’d like for future first years to know that studying 24/7 is not healthy. There are many more benefits from taking the time out of studying to work out and eat healthy.

Accepted: What motivated you to pursue a career in medicine?