General Admissions & OTCAS Occupational Therapy Stats -- help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

carly013

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all!

I am currently finishing up pre-requisites for an OT Master's program, and I am wondering how my stats compare. My undergrad was in communications and I've been working full-time for the past two years while completing the science pre-reqs. Let me know what you think!

I really don't want to take the GRE, which leaves me to two schools in my area: University of Minnesota and University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

Do you think it's bad to only apply to two schools with my stats?

Prereq GPA: 3.75
Cum GPA: 3.7
Volunteer hours: 75+ in acute care setting
Working full time in academic health care communications for the past 2 years

A- in physiology, B+ in anatomy lecture, and A- in anatomy lab

Also, has anyone had experience applying to UWL? That is my number one choice right now.

Thanks! :)

Members don't see this ad.

I personally don't think it's bad to apply to only 2 schools, of course your choices would be limited but I know several people that have only applied to 1 or 2 schools for various reasons like not being able to afford multiple apps, having interest in only a couple schools, and also not wanting to take the GRE. I am not familiar with UWLs requirements but your stats look pretty solid for any school for the most part and with good LOR I dont see much issue with applying/ being accepted into either of those programs.

Hi everyone! I am in the midst of the OT application process for the 2017-18 cycle. I just wanted to post my stats and the schools I am interested in to see if anyone has any input on my chances of being accepted/anywhere else I can apply to.

Cum GPA: 3.01
Pre-req GPA: 3.35
Verbal GRE:158
Quant GRE: 154
Writing GRE: 4.0
Volunteer Hours: 130 hours in geriatric, pediatric, hospital and school settings