Obtaining a residency interview

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DS-Bruno

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am really interested in residency, however, I do not feel I am a strong candidate.
I am currently a P3.

The GOOD:
-I am very involved with organizations at school and have held numerous leadership positions.
-I have many years of experience in pharmacy as a tech and intern (well over 15 years) and have maintained stable employment.
-I have both hospital and retail experience as an intern and a tech

The BAD:
-My GPA is below a 3.0 (Im hoping after this semester and APPE's that it will hopefully bring it up to a 3.0)
-At this time I am unable to move, completely not an option and 100% off the table. This limits my options and there are only 4 residency programs I can apply to within 60-90 minutes driving time of me. I make that drive for school now, so this is not a problem. However, 2 of these residencies are extremely competitive!

INFO:
I chose all very difficult rotations, and all hospital. I chose rotations at the hospitals I would like to apply to so I can network and meet people before the application process opens. Hopefully when my application hits their email, they recognize the name and that helps. I also plan to ask for letters of recommendations from the preceptors at those sites if I do well. I do have other options, but the plan is to get them from the difficult rotations and preceptors at the main site I want if I do well on those rotations.
My rotations include; Cardiology, Infectious Disease, Diabetes, Anticoagulation, Critical Care, Emergency med, etc.
All things that 1-will never go away and will be on boards and 2-will hopefully look really good on my CV.
I do plan on doing my absolute best and am not scared to do the required work to make a great impression.