Ob/Gyn Rotation and General Rotations (3+4th year questions)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted815127

Hello,
Third year for me is starting in a few weeks and I am terrified. I am beginning with Ob/Gyn as my first rotation. Being a male student, I have heard numerous times patient's feel uncomfortable interacting with a male patient.
1. How do I overcome this? One of the reasons I was excited for my site, it was a bigger hospital and I expected that I would see a lot more. However, from what I've read on this and other forums and seen on youtubes, male students don't do a lot during their Ob/Gyn rotation, often standing outside or the resident/attending doing everything and they standing like flies on wall.
-- Is this true? I don't want to trust the interweb, however, I want to know the truth!

2. I want to make a strong start on my first rotations, is there some advice you can share to help shape my Ob/Gyn or general rotations into a helpful and an enjoyable learning opportunity?

3. I am an osteopathic student, if any Osteopathic students are reading this, what techniques did you perform in this rotation? The hospital that I am going to doesn't have many osteopaths, however, the head of the program is interested in us maintaining our osteopathic skills. Also how do you bring this into the conversation w/a conventional visit?

4. What is the schedule we are expected to maintain, one of my upperclassmen said 9-5ish, however, I don't want my preceptors thinking that I am in a hurry to leave. So what hours do you recommend?

5. Once again for the Osteopaths reading this, when do you schedule your level 2 PE and CK exam in your third year. Does doing it before the VSAS help and when do you recommend doing VSAS?

Thanks IN Advance!

Members don't see this ad.