OAT test day experience

winter25

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I read the last 5 years' worth of posts about specific test day experiences, so I thought I'd pay it forward!!

Bio/GC/OC/RC/Physics/QR
Kaplan Free 310/340/320/290/270/360
Achiever 1 320/340/350/290/250/380
Kaplan 1 340/300/290/380/310/360
Achiever 2 340/320/330/--/320/--
Kaplan 2 320/330/330/370/310/330
ADA practice 370/390/360/340/380/390
OAT 390/400/400/350/390/370 TS 400/AA 380

I'm ecstatic with my scores!! based on how my practice tests were going, I assumed I'd at least get a 330, but I was really aiming for a 350 overall. So, when I saw my scores pop up on the screen, I couldn't stop grinning (I probably looked crazy)!!

Study Materials
I started studying in May. I was taking a summer course at the time, so I probably studied for the OAT ~3-4 hrs a day in May. My course ended at the end of the month, so I studied a bit more in June. That's when I began taking practice tests & really hammering down the material.

Biology - big Kaplan blue book. I read through each chapter twice. The first time I made online flashcards of each chapter. In hindsight, this was a bit of a waste of time as I never really used the online flashcards I made. The second time I read through the book was about 1.5 weeks before my exam. This time I made handmade flashcards for everything I wasn't familiar with. I also went through all of the questions after each chapter.

Gen Chem, Org Chem, Physics, & QR - Chad's videos. Watched each video, took notes, & did the practice quizzes. Also made flashcards for each section with things I wasn't 100% understanding about a week or two before my test. I reviewed these cards every few days.

Reading Comprehension - I only practiced this through the practice tests I completed. This was actually the section I was most worried about because I hadn't been scoring too hot on my practice tests.

Test Day