Non-traditional Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chepo15

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

Long-time lurker, first time posting.

Sorry for posting another admissions thread - I realize that plenty of admissions questions/threads have been posted; I'm just looking for more specific advice.

I'm a non-traditional student: I didn't major in COMD. I graduated from a University of California campus a couple of years ago, majoring in history and literature. I graduated with a cumulative gpa of 3.66.

My career goal at the time was to teach special education. While applying to a teaching credential program, I took a job as an assistant for a school-based SLP. I was on the job that entire school year, and I learned a lot about the COMD field and SLP profession. So much so that I decided to pursue a career in comm. disorders.

The following year, I took a full-time SLP position in the same school district through a state-issued waiver - rural California was in such desperate need for SLPs that at the time, that the state was issuing waivers to just about anyone.

After two years working in the field, successfully managing a caseload of 60-70 students (providing therapy as best I could given my lack of experience in the field, scheduling/attending over 100 IEPS, report writing, collaborating with other service providers - other SLPs, psychologists, audiologists, OTs, APs, teachers, administrators, nurses, and parents), and a few COMD classes under my belt, I've realized that audiology is a better fit for me than SLP.

I'm still studying for the GRE and working on getting more observation hours done before applications are due.

Essentially...with
-an undergrad GPA of a 3.66
-two years working in speech-related work, including work with students with hard-of-hearing needs
-decent amount of observation hours
-a GRE of at least 300