Non-traditional post-bacc dilemma!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

potato_ramen

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I’m a motivated 24-year-old non-traditional applicant in a dilemma!

Background: I’m a physiotherapist who graduated in 2015 in Canada. I completed a Bachelor’s of 3 years and a Master’s of one year, both degrees in physiotherapy. My undergrad cGPA is 3.0 on a 4.0 scale (I struggled a lot in my undergrad, to say the least).

I took the MCAT course with Prep 101 and am planning of writing the exam in summer 2018.

My goal is to boost my lackluster gpa. I am considering the US and Ireland as options because the application processes are more holistic, as opposed to here in Canada where gpa seems to be all that matters (which I understand to a certain degree). That is not to say that I believe my undergrad gpa will be overlooked outside of Canada, I am just weighing in on the possible options:

1) Complete a second undergrad degree in Canada to improve gpa

I feel that this would be harder for me, as I need to be in an environment with like- minded individuals. In Canada, formal post-bacc programs do not exist and we lack the support from profs and peers about applications and the MCAT, etc. It would also mean that I would work part time or not at all.

But if it works out, I could then reapply to Canadian/US schools.

2) Go through the MCAT and apply to the Atlantic Bridge program

This is the program in Ireland, affiliated with the US and I feel that my only chance is

to perform well on the MCAT. Depending on the different colleges in Ireland, there is no REAL gpa cutoff (according to my research). It seems to be a plan B for students who cannot apply to Canada/US schools.

3) Apply to post-bacc pre-med program in the US