non-science bachelor degree

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lv723

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

I really need some advice about getting into Optometry school. I was a finance major & accounting minor in college, but I'm not too happy in this field. I graduated with a 3.3 & took AP chem while I was in High School; the credits transferred so I didn't really have to take any science courses while I was in college (beside astronomy). I graduated HS in 2009 so it's been a very long time since my last science course.

I know there's some pre-reqs to get into optometry school. What does everyone suggest I do? I thought about going to a local community college to get my science courses done. I even thought about taking a post bacc- pre-med (which would allow to me take the science courses as well)

I am working full time right now and can't quit my job- so night classes seem to be my only choice.

Also, What would be your suggestion on shadowing other optometrist?

Please advise!

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Members don't see this ad.

Well you would need to look at the prerequisites for the schools you want to apply to and knock them out. Most of the schools require 1 yr of general biology, chemistry and physics. Also most require biochemistry, organic chemistry, microbiology, A&P. Also most require other non sciences as well. I don't know about your community college but the one here doesn't offer upper level classes so you should look into that. I know most optometry schools will accepted credits as long as the school you attend is accredited.