No hand-on USCE IMG. Where should I aim for?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rhomboid

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I'm an IMG from Asia. I graduated 8 years ago, and had completed my internal medicine as well as sub-specialty training in my home country. I have strong clinical experiences, and had > 20 original publications. I decided to continue my career in US, and is currently a MPH student. I aim to apply for the 2017-2018 cycle.

My strength:
1. Strong clinical experience in IM and in sub-specialty
2. Strong publication lists
3. Step 1 > 250 (others not taken yet)
4. A MPH degree
5. High GPA, some awards...etc

My weakness:
1. Graduated many years ago
2. No hand-on clerkship or sub-internship. Even I can do some observership or externship, that would not be counted toward hand-on experience.
3. I am not very confident with interview and social activities with current residents.

My aim is still to be an academic physician, and I hope to be in university-affiliated IM program.
However, I know may programs specifically asked for hand-on USCE, and that is not possible for IMG who already graduated. I also thought that I am too ambitious wanting to matched to high-ranking IM programs.

My questions are:
1. Should I aim lower, aiming to get a IM spot first, and get into a good fellowship later?
2. Is there anything I can keep doing to increase my profile?
3. Would It help if I still apply to those programs, followed by a letter to program director or coordinators?

Thanks a lot!!

Members don't see this ad.