Newbie pharmacist staffing night shift solo

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

positivesign

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, what are your thoughts and tips on how to survive the night shift in a hospital setting? Got a new job, will have ~1 month training in days then will be by myself during nights :) wish me luck...

But otherwise, I'm excited for the opportunity to be knowledgeable and eventually become comfortable running the pharmacy independently.

What are your must-know stuffs and go-to resources? Any materials I need to start re-studying? I have limited clinical pharmacy experience but can work under pressure in a fast paced environment.

Members don't see this ad.

If your hospital has a 3rd shift, then you probably have sister hospitals (hopefully with a 3rd shift).....make sure you have their direct numbers, so you can call with questions. I assume you will also have a technician who can help? If not, make sure you know where everything is kept, what supplies come from central, the procedure for handling crash carts--the kind of stuff that you might not think about on days because a technician takes care of it. Make sure you know emergency call numbers, and the direct number for the house supervisor.

Have an IV compatibility reference handy, that will be the biggest 3rd shift question, from new nurses.

Expect some nights to be pretty slow, and some nights when everything will drop at the same moment. See if you can have at least a few nights training with another pharmacist to talk to them, about what kind of stuff to expect (ie what kind of emergency surgeries are done, is everything done in-house and/or what conditions will be transferred out, etc.)