NBDE part 1 from scratch, best method to study

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hi there,
I finished dental school in 2008, after many years trying to start studying for the boards I finally got serious about it.
I got all my credentials evaluated and started the process of organizing my life and work schedule around my studies, I was concerning if been graduated 10 years ago would be an issue, but apparently isn't.
I have been working as a hygienist for almost 9 years. As right now I'm planning to study for 6 months + to cover part one. I'm a little confused how can I get the most of my time, I need a good study plan to go trough the material without been stuck or mentally irritated.
Now I'm focus in microbiology first ( Kaplan, Firsrt aid, Dentin, Decks) , I will follow biochem and the anatomy, but I don't know what is the best strategy.
Please let me know how did you do in your test and what experiences can you share with me.
Thanks

Evets

Members don't see this ad.

My two cents would be to first read the official NBDE guide to get an idea of the exam format and the breakdown by sections. I studied for part 1 5 years out of dental school so don't worry too much about it. Once you start reading, some of the material will come back to you. I stuck to just the decks, first aid and released exams. More important than studying from multiple sources is to limit yourself to 2-3 and revise as much as you can. I finished each subject from decks first and then completed first aid and papers for that subject.
You are giving yourself enough time. Start studying and don't forget to take breaks. Don't saturate yourself. I studied over 4-5 months while working full time and made sure I took Sunday's off to refresh my mind.

Reactions: 1 users
Thank you very much for your advised.
I was tempting to go back and for from Micro and Biochem.
Should I mix subjects or finish Micro and the go to Biochem?