navy HPSP $20K signing bonus

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iLuvDAT

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
is this just a limited time "promotion"? i read somewhere that it's only for people who sign the contract between 06-07?

Members don't see this ad.

It has nothing to do with a "Promotion". It is a monetary bonus for attracting dentists to the Navy. There is no other benefit other than lining your pockets with $20k.

my question is whether the bonus is permanent or just for the 06-07 cycle.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm a bit confused. Hopefully some of you bright Navy officers can help me out. Over my past few years as as a commisioned officer, I have always been under the assumption that all DOD dentists/physicians get the same amount of money/benifits. I am still pretty sure this is the case for AD, but it seems to be different while on HPSP. On AD, we all get the same BAH (depending on area), BAS, Base pay, ASP, VSP, ISP (surgeons) depending on rank/years/credentials. I know that when one branch wants a bonus, then they often have to convience the other branches to go along with it. All or none philosophy.

How is it possible then that the Navy can give the $20K HPSP bonus? I am pretty up to date on the AF happenings and I have yet to hear anything about this. I tried to seach it today and I found nothing. Plus as stated in a previous thread, the Navy will pay for laptops and the AF won't. Is the Navy just promoting this better than the AF/Army, or is it really something only the Navy offers?